Catecholamine Society Newsletter

August, 2016

Greetings from the President

Welcome to the Catecholamine Society biannual newsletter. As many of you know from my emails, I am the President of the Catecholamine Society for 2016-2018. While I'm unclear as to the dates of my 'formal' membership in the Society, my attendance at Society functions dates back to my postdoctoral days with Erminio Costa at NIMH. Yes, I was lucky enough to attend the wonderful Catecholamine Club meeting at the Cosmos Club in Washington, D.C. that was arranged by Dr. Costa, when he was President of the Catecholamine Club. As do many of you senior scientists, I have trouble calling it the Catecholamine Society instead of the Catecholamine Club.

I am so excited to announcement the creation of our new website. I want to sincerely thank Sushil Mahata and his colleague Mile Stojanov for the amazing new site. I also want to thank Hunter Simpson from Pitt for his development and maintenance of our previous website.

When looking over the new website, please look at the list of past presidents of the Catecholamine Society. Of course, the first President was Julius Axelrod. The names on that list represent many of the core founders of the field of catecholamines and are truly giants in the field. I am humbled and honored to have my name listed alongside theirs. I want to also thank our Past President, Lee Eiden for helping me so easily make the transition to President of the Catecholamine Society.

I am fortunate to have a dedicated, energetic Executive Board with whom to work. The Executive Board listing is on the website, but I make note of the new position of Communications Officer. Dr. Erin Calipari (Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, NY) has brought her considerable energy to the Catecholamine Society. Erin tapped into her contacts to enrich the society financially. Through Erin's efforts, Cisbio (http://www.cisbio.com/usa/drug-discovery/homepage) has generously donated \$750 to the Catecholamine Society and DiscoverRx (http://www.discoverx.com/home) has been equally as generous. We wholeheartedly thank Erin, Cisbio and DiscoverRx. Every bit helps the society fund students, awards, and meetings.

If you have any ideas for the Catecholamine Society that could help us to further our mission of promoting and understanding catecholamines, don't hesitate to contact me or anyone on the board. Similarly, if you have ideas for the website, pipe up! If you know of an upcoming catecholamine-related meeting to post, please let Sushil or me know.

Society Communications

Dr. Erin Calipari is putting the Catecholamine Society on the communications map. We want the Society to stay relevant and recruit new members. Erin set up a Twitter account that seems to be going quite well. Several notices have been put on the Facebook account. Furthermore, Erin has started a blog where she posts information about upcoming meetings as well as keep you posted as we plan the upcoming Catecholamine Symposium. We will also be posting interesting articles and stories related to catecholamine research!

Links:

Website:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MonoamineClub

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/563464623813425/563575777135643/?ref=notif¬if_t=likenif id=1460002732135148

Blog: http://catecholaminesociety.blogspot.com

The Catecholamine Society Dinner and Awards

The Society annual meeting and dinner was held on April 5 at Buster's Beach House in San Diego. Thank you to Sushil Mahata, Society Treasurer, for his excellent organization of a very fun evening. The 2016 winner of the Axelrod Award (given through ASPET) was Paul Insel, Professor of Medicine at the University of California at San Diego. Paul gave a fascinating and entertaining post-dinner talk that focused on Julius Axelrod, Paul's own science and the importance of mentoring.

A special thanks goes to Kellie O'Connor. In memory of her late husband and past-president of the Catecholamine Society, Kellie created The Daniel T. O'Connor Young Investigator Travel Award. This year we had five awardees: Marco A. Alfonzo-Méndez, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico City, Mexico; Rachel Altshuler, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI; Nadia Ayala-Lopez, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI; Cody Siciliano, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston, MA; and Yun Young Yim, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN.

The dinner attendance was 42, and all seemed to have a great time.

Change to Dues

In the past, the Society dues could be paid once every three years and the cost was \$60. This is a difficult fee structure to maintain and keep track of. In addition, the Society has occasionally found itself in financial need come time for the yearly dinner and there was no cushion to provide for other funding needs. Therefore, sorry to say, we are increasing the dues and collecting them yearly, as does most every other society. Dues will be \$50.00 per year for full members and \$25.00 per year for postdoctoral and predoctoral students. The dues can be paid through the Catecholamine Society website or by check to Dr. Sushil Mahata, Metabolic Physiology & Ultrastructural Biology Laboratory, Stein Clinical Research Building #207, UCSD, 9500 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, CA 92093-0732 Email: smahata@ucsd.edu.

Member news



Congratulations to Danielle Sambo who received a two grants from McKnight Brain Institute at the University of Florida where her mentor, Dr. Habibeh Khoshbouei, is Associate professor of Neuroscience and Psychiatry and member of the Catecholamine Society. Danielle is also the recipient of Brian Robinson endowment award 2016.



Congratulations to Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD, who was the recipient of the 2015-16 Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award at SUNY Buffalo. The award, established in 2012, is given annually to members of the graduate faculty who have demonstrated "truly outstanding and sustained support and development of graduate students from course completion through research and subsequent career placement." Margarita is a SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology and senior associate dean for inclusion and cultural enhancement.

At the 2016 EB meeting, Margarita hosted and introduced Marc Nivet, EdD, chief diversity officer of the Association of American Medical Colleges, who presented a keynote lecture entitled "Diversity 3.0: From Fairness to Excellence." Margarita is a long-standing member of the Catecholamine Society and highly active in ASPET.



Congratulations to Rachel Altshuler, a pre-doctoral student at the UM in Ann Arbor. In the past few months she has received three significant awards: the 2016 Daniel T. O'Connor Young Investigator Travel Award through the Catecholamine Society, first place in the graduate student Best Abstract Competition in the Behavioral Pharmacology Division of ASPET, and the first Department of Pharmacology Lucchesi Scholar based on her scientific accomplishments, academic merit, and departmental citizenship. Rachel's mentors are Dr. Emily Jutkiewicz and Dr. Margaret Gnegy.

In Memoriam



We are saddened by the loss of Nancy Zahniser - a catecholamine scholar, mentor and scientist who will be greatly missed. A brief biography of Nancy is attached, both for those who knew her, and those who would like to take a moment to appreciate her impact on our field. The complete version, written by Drs. Habibeh Khoshbouei and Joanna Peris from the University of Florida, is available through ASPET (https://www.aspet.org/membership/obituaries/nancy-zahniser/). Nancy's absence will be felt by her colleagues and the many former students, post-docs and young faculty who she generously supported over the years. Nancy was a highly ethical scientist who was a role model for many.