Catecholamine Society

Founded in 1968

The Catecholamine society is an international organization consisting of scientists interested in all aspects of catecholamine research. Founded in 1968, the society holds an annual dinner meeting that includes a lecture by the recipient of the Axelrod Award. The Julius Axelrod Award in Pharmacology was established in 1991 to honor the memory of the eminent American pharmacologist who shaped the fields of neuroscience, drug metabolism, and biochemistry and who served as a mentor for numerous eminent pharmacologists around the world. The Julius Axelrod Award is presented for significant contributions to understanding the biochemical mechanisms underlying the pharmacological actions of drugs and for contributions to mentoring other pharmacologists. ASPET assumed responsibility of the Julius Axelrod Award in Pharmacology from the Catecholamine Society in 2007.

Members of the Catecholamine society receive a regular newsletter with information on scientific meetings, news of members and any other matters of interest to those working on catecholamines. Members and their fellows are eligible to apply for the Daniel T. O’Connor Young Investigator Travel Award to the Experimental Biology meeting and Catecholamine Society dinner.

In Memoriam

Obituary for Dr. Nancy Zahniser

Dr. Nancy Zahniser - In Memoriam

Dr. Nancy Rutledge Zahniser, Ph.D., passed away peacefully at her home in Denver Colorado on May 5, 2016 after being diagnosed with neuroglioblastoma in December 2014. After she received her B.A. in Chemistry from the College of Wooster in Ohio in 1970, Dr. Zahniser spent a year teaching high school at the Woodstock School in Mussoorie in India. She returned to the U.S. for her graduate studies under Dr. Israel Hanin at the University of Pittsburgh, where she received a Ph.D. in Pharmacology in 1977. Dr. Zahniser did her post-doctoral training in the lab of Dr. Perry Molinoff at the Department of Pharmacology in the School of Medicine at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center in Denver, CO. Subsequently, she was hired by that department and rose quickly through the ranks to become Full Professor with tenure in 1991.

Read More