Julius Axelrod Award

History of the Award

Julius Axelrod Award

The Julius Axelrod Award in Pharmacology was established to honor the memory of the eminent American pharmacologist who shaped the fields of neuroscience, drug metabolism and biochemistry and who served as a mentor for numerous eminent pharmacologists around the world. The Julius Axelrod Award is presented annually for significant contributions to understanding the biochemical mechanisms underlying the pharmacological actions of drugs and for contributions to mentoring other pharmacologists.

Beginning in 2007, the Axelrod Medal became the Julius Axelrod Award of American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. The recipient of this award in any given year presents an informal talk on their career at the at the Catecholamine society dinner held during the meeting Experimental Biology meeting. The following year the recipient presents a formal talk at the Experimental Biology meeting with an accompanying symposium. The award consists of an honorarium of $5,000, a medal, and travel expenses for the winner and spouse to the Experimental Biology annual meeting.

For more information and guidelines for nomination visit www.aspet.org

Julius Axelrod Award Medalists

The Catecholamine Society initiated the Julius Axelrod Award in 1991. The American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET) assumed the award in 2007.